Tuesday, November 10, 2009

It's all in a line ...

I've only taken a pregnancy test once or twice - usually only because I was being paranoid and had symptoms that just might possibly mean I was pregnant. But I'd just pee on the stick, see two straight blue lines (one in each window), heave a sigh of relief ... and usually get my period a day or two late. No big deal.

So this time didn't seem much different that the others. Kyle and I weren't trying to get pregnant, I was still on birth control pills, and I was beginning a new workout regime that was very intense. But this time, no pregnancy symptoms - just a late period. Probably because I've been working out a lot, I told myself. I felt great. If I were pregnant, wouldn't my breasts be tender, my stomach feel nauseous, and my emotions be all over the place? Since I was in Arizona visiting my parents for their surprise 60th birthday party (and because I didn't want to get my mother excited over nothing), I drove down to the grocery store solo, bought some groceries, and threw in the pregnancy test. Maybe at some level, I knew. Maybe my body knew, even though I didn't have any symptoms. I was a little nervous, but I mostly expected to see those two straight lines (one in each window) so I could heave my sigh of relief and get on with the weekend.

Instead, in the bathroom at Weber's IGA in Sedona, AZ - I picked up the stick and saw a faint, light-blue "plus" in the first window. I stared at it for a minute. It looked faint ... but ... no it was definitely there. I think I physically shook my head in disbelief before tossing it in the garbage can. I washed my hands, then tried to dig it back out of the garbage can for confirmation. It had fallen amidst a bunch of paper towels, though, and I couldn't find it. Had that extra blue line really been there? Yes, yes it had. I was pregnant. And the journey began.


No comments:

Post a Comment